1. Understanding the DMV’s 10-Day Rule

    In 1990, California initiated the administration license suspension program, also known as "Admin Per Se" (APS), in hopes of creating a powerful deterrent to drunk driving. Under the APS program, the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) is required to suspend/revoke the driving privilege of any person arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or a combination of alcohol and drugs, wh…Read More

  2. What is “Petty Theft” in California?

    Petty theft (PC 484) is charged when someone takes, for any amount of time, property (valued up to $950) not belonging to him and deprives the rightful owner of potential enjoyment or value of that property. Sentencing in Petty Theft Cases In California, petty theft is a misdemeanor. If found guilty of this offense, potential sentencing consequences may include: Up to 6 months in county jail Up to…Read More